Recently in Massachusetts Controlled Substances Act Category

August 23, 2010

Controlled Substances Act

In Chapter 94C, Section 31 of the General Laws of Massachusetts, drugs are divvied up into five categories, or classes, of controlled substances. Chapter 94C, Section 32 outlines the corresponding punishments for possessing and selling the different classes of drugs.

The following lists the punishments that correspond with the different classes of drugs:

Class A Controlled Substances
1st Offense: State prison sentence of up to ten years OR a jail sentence of up to two and a half years, AND/OR by a fine of $1000-$10,000.
Prior Convictions: State prison sentence of five to fifteen years AND by a fine of $2,500 to $25,000.

Class B Controlled Substances
1st Offense: State prison sentence of up to ten years OR a jail sentence of up to two and a half years, AND/OR by a fine of $1,000 to $10,000.
Prior Convictions: State prison sentence of three to ten years AND by a fine of $2,500 to $25,000.
* Phencyclidine, Coca leaves, Methamphetamine
1st Offense: State prison sentence of two and a half years to ten years OR a jail sentence of one to two and a half years, AND a fine of $1,000-$10,000.
Prior Convictions: State prison sentence of five to fifteen years AND by fine of $2,500 to $25,000.

Class C Controlled Substances
1st Offense: State prison sentence of up to five years OR a jail sentence of up to two and a half years, AND/OR by a fine of $500 to $5,000.
Prior Convictions: State prison sentence of two and a half years to ten years OR a jail sentence of two to two and a half years, AND by a fine of $1,000 to $10,000.

Class D Controlled Substances
1st Offense: A jail sentence of up to two years AND/OR by a fine of $500 to $5,000.
Prior Convictions: A jail sentence of one to two and a half years AND/OR by a fine of
$1,000 to $10,000.

Class E Controlled Substances
1st Offense: A jail sentence of up to nine months AND/OR by a fine of $250 to $2,500.
Prior Convictions: A jail sentence of up to one and a half years AND/OR by a fine of $5,00 to $5,000.

Continue reading "Controlled Substances Act" »